HomeNews / MediaAward presented to innovative anaesthetist

Award presented to innovative anaesthetist

NIC-Anaesthesia-2014-ArticleToday the annual prize for Innovation in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain will be presented to Dr Maryanne Mariyaselvam from The Queen Elizabeth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust in King’s Lynn. Dr Mariyaselvam’s invention has been developed to improve the safety of arterial lines. An arterial line is a thin catheter inserted into an artery and is associated with complications including bacterial contamination and blood spillage.

The award is given by the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) at its Winter Scientific Meeting held in London and will be presented by the AAGBI President, Dr Andrew Hartle.

Applications for the award were open to all anaesthetists and intensive care doctors with the emphasis on new ideas contributing to patient safety, high quality clinical care and improvements in the working environment. Commenting on the award, Dr Hartle said:

“Anaesthetists are very inventive individuals, always at the forefront of innovations and practical solutions. I’m thrilled with the number of high quality applicants we had. Dr Mariyaselvam’s innovation is insightful and original and could really improve the way anaesthetists work and also contribute to patient safety”.

Dr Mariyaselvam’s innovation would be the only device of its kind available on the market to promote arterial line safety. The innovation is called The Non Injectable Arterial Connector (NIC) and is a needlefree connector which is screwed onto the side port of a three-way tap. It has a one-way valve that allows aspiration only, making blood gas sampling easier, preventing blood spillage and bacterial contamination of the arterial line.

Winning the award will allow the product or idea to be showcased before medical equipment manufacturers including award sponsors Intersurgical, 3M Healthcare and Fannin, and will help with funds towards testing and marketing.

Dr Mariyaselvam commented on her innovation and winning the award:

“The Non-Injectable Arterial Connector (NIC) was designed to improve the safety of arterial lines. It prevents bacterial contamination, blood spillage during sampling and the accidental administration of medication into the arterial line, which although a rare event, can be potentially devastating if it occurs. It is fantastic to be nominated for the AAGBI Innovation Prize as it highlights the work being done by the Kings Lynn Institute of Patient Safety (KLIPS) and will help to improve not only arterial line safety, but also the adoption of patient safety devices in the NHS.”

The winner was chosen by a panel of experts including anaesthetists Professor Monty Mythen, Professor Jaideep Pandit and Dr Tim Meek.


Go to top